top of page
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureJuliet Frerking

TouchCare Intern Chats with Rob LaHayne, CEO

Updated: Mar 12, 2019

Hi! I'm Karen, TouchCare's Summer Intern. During my time at TouchCare, I worked on a variety of projects. From building out the social media calendar to working on the database for physician referrals, I got to dip my toe into several areas of the business. As a final project, I sat down with TouchCare's CEO, Rob LaHayne, and interviewed him about his background and sources of inspiration. Check it out!

Karen Chen

What is something you rely on daily? 


My morning routine. No matter how tired I am I start my day at 5 am with a workout. When I get back from the gym, I get myself ready while I hang out with my family. Undistracted morning family time is one of the highlights of my day. My morning workout is my headspace time. The mornings are when I get my best thinking done and have the most clarity in my thinking. Starting the day with a workout is a great way to ensure that you begin on a positive note. It sets the tone for the rest of the day and, with the addition of a few cups of coffee, gives me energy to bring with me to the office.


Name a few companies/brands/leaders you admire and why. 


This may sound cliche, but my wife (Sara LaHayne) is a tremendous inspiration for me as a leader. She is a veteran founder/CEO of 8 years and her energy never ceases to amaze me. Despite her insane workload, balancing life as a mother, wife, daughter, and CEO, she has taught me the importance of being present.


What is one piece of advice you would give to aspiring Chief Executives? 


Do it your way. There is no good playbook for being a CEO. If I had to give one piece of advice, I would say make sure you remain focused. It’s very easy to get distracted with new ideas or opportunities in a start-up. Focus is not just something that you need to concentrate on personally, but you also need to make sure your team stays the course as well.


What period of time matters most to you?


The window of time between when I get home from the office and when I hit the pillow for the night. I have a 1 year old and a wife that mean more to me than any call, email, or meeting. I make sure to get home for bedtime as many nights as possible, and Sara and I do our best to have an intentionally disconnected dinner together. There is no better way to decompress after a long day than making your kid laugh and spending time with your partner.

What's a really great book you read recently? 


“The Last Days of Night” by Graham Moore. Admittedly, I prefer historical fictions to business books, but a lot of times they intersect for me. This is a great example. Talk about some inspiring leaders - Thomas Edison, George Westinghouse, Paul Cravath, and JP Morgan. When I was reading the book I couldn’t help but compare all of their leadership styles to current people in my life. Edison’s refusal to lose was incredible. Westinghouse was a tremendous player-coach. Cravath refused to be intimidated. And JP Morgan was the consummate opportunist. I work in healthcare & health insurance (not the most exciting topics to outsiders), so reading a book that made the invention of the lightbulb into a thriller gave me hope for the great novels that will be written about us someday!

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page